2045 Carnival Folklore is a science fiction film, which takes place 100 years after the first atom bombs were dropped in our reality.



Like a noise rock Brave New World with echoes of Alphaville, this gorgeous black and white vision of Japan after a nuclear disaster pits chaos against control and secret agents against an oppressive government agency. 

Inspired by the anarchic spirit of Japanese noise rock, 2045 Carnival Folklore is a fever dream of a science fiction story set after a worldwide nuclear disaster. The country once known as Japan has collapsed. Out of its ashes an authoritarian party called ANIKI has risen up, controlling the population through fear and feeding them human flesh. The story, however, follows a spy from the nether world, “Sun Ra,” who sneaks into the city; the movie is essentially his report. Themes of chaos and control run rampant, with a doctor and nurse team working for ANIKI and trying to control the sexual impulses of the patients in the psycho ward. Similarly, the control over the movie is often ceded to Japanoise interludes, like a performance from the Fukushima Mutant Gandja Turtles or Toshiji Mikawa and his influential noise rock band Incapactants. Anarchy reigns in both story and style. This is a world where people will return to nuclear power, because six months after a major disaster they’ve already forgotten. Come to think of it, that’s a world much like our own.  - David Novak


SEATTLE INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL 2015, Sci-Fi fact Official Selection
2015 | HD | COLOR AND B/W | STEREO | 16:9

Naoki Kato: Direction, Script
Keisuke Masuda : Original story, Script
Yukibumi Josha : Cinematography
Hwang Young Chang : Sound Recording
Hiroshi Suzuki :Editing
Music by Sierror!〽 (Naoki Kato+Keisuke Masuda), Hiroyuki Nagashima(Dowser)
Naoko Hara : Art Direction
Ko Sakai : Assistant Director
Yukiko Iioka : Camera Assistant
Produced by  Harahoro,  ENBU seminer
Funded by  Arts Commission Yokohama
Distribution support by EN Pacific Service

Cast :
Junya Ishii,  Misaki Oka,  Shigeru Okuse,  Ryosuke Hayashi
Ryo Hamamoto, Hiroyuki Nagashima,  T.MIKAWA,  Hideyuki Okamoto,  Emiri Kosaki
Tsunekazu Ebihara, Toma Onishi,  Masaya Omura,  Naoko Oka, Yukako Kawazoe
Yohei Tsuchiya, Futoshi Hamanaka, Yusuke Hiraoka, Kyoko Yano, Keisuke Masuda


PAGES: 1 2 3 4